Waterford City & County Council's Arts resource site
The band was founded in Waterford in 1885 by the late Sam Barnes and the late Councillor Tom Cullen.
The band has always been affectionately known locally by it’s followers as The Yellow Road Band as the band’s headquarters are situated on the Lower Yellow Road but when the band travels and for official engagements it’s proper name is re-established.
Once an entirely male band, today we are a unisex band, a mixture of vibrant youth and great experience. Fife and Drum has stood the test of time.